top of page

As I Watched the Cars Go By

Written by Carmen X, @animagebook, our poetry writer, and edited by Lilah, @lilahwilliamss, one of our editors!


(We skipped church and sat in the café corner of the corner café. Erik Satie played somewhere. We were incredibly lazy those weekends. She was talking about Bukowski. She said he was a bastard but he wrote like a son of a bitch.) He could write all right. He was one of the real ones. Some or maybe lots don’t like him, but I do. Maybe we don’t like him anymore because he’s too real. Right? (I said Right.) Real life is too old and too dirty. It can get anyone down. You don’t need to be a poet to know that. So why do I have to hear it from him? Right? (I sipped my coffee and said Right. It wasn’t that long ago that you could still get a decent cup at a good price and have it taste all right.) But I like him because he wrote with a sword, he could cut all the bullshit. And who says it’s his sword? Maybe I can use it, or you, or that lady over there, or that other lady over there, or that—you know what I mean. Cut all the shit ourselves, cut even Buk himself, because he was full of shit too. Like poetry you just have to get it out sometimes. It’s not his fault he was blessed with a crappy life. Or maybe it was. Right? (I said Right and finished my coffee. I coughed to hide a fart, failed, and she laughed.)



Recent Posts

See All

The Real of the Body

Written by Carmen X, one of our poetry writers, and edited by Willow, one of our editors! Some quick thoughts, seemingly not brought...

Comentarios


Welcome to the blog!

Here, you'll find articles written about all sorts of topics! Some come from me, and some come from you guys! 

How can I feature my writing?

Submit your writing by email! Click the email box at the top of your screen to directly send us your work!

Are there any restrictions? Is there a deadline?

There are no requirements, just be polite! There is no deadline to submit your writing to the blog, but if you want your work to be published in our zines, you'll have to send it by the pre-set deadline. 

blog-how-to-write-a-blog-post-400x200.pn
bottom of page