top of page

De (demo ver.)

Written by Carmen X, one of our poetry writers, and edited by Lilah, one of our editors!

It was fifteen minutes till the end of everything. Alien invasion, climate catastrophe, take your pick; it didn’t matter. A lot was going on. Everything was happening everywhere and all at once. Everything.


Wanna go for a walk? She took a glance out the window. I was in bed, nursing a case of bad allergies. I had the covers up over my face.


What’s with you?


I don’t know. I suddenly have a lot of energy. You think the taco truck around the corner’s still open?


Do we even have time?


I don’t know. She blinked and then shrugged. It was a noncommittal gesture. (Later I realized how that attitude of hers helped me from going completely nuts; then again, maybe we weren’t going crazy enough, in those days.)


I pulled the covers down. My view of the window was limited. I was in bed after all. But I did see the blue sky and the white clouds. They looked the same as always. But, also, completely different. If you’re aware of montage theory or the Kuleshov effect it was a lot like that.


Looking out a window, the very act of it, I wanted to smash my face through the glass just for something different for a change. But, alas, allergies. Then I thought about what I just asked her: that time was something we could have.


Oh yeah. They’re playing Vivre sa Vie in the film society theatre tomorrow.


The Godard film?


Would you wanna catch it?


I mean, I’d like to. I reached for the tissues and blew my nose.


Same. She smiled. Still looking out that window. I’d wanna see it too.


And then everything


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This piece was written by one of our poetry columnists, Carmen X. Reach them at @animagebook, on Instagram!


This piece was edited by one of our editors, Lilah. Reach them at @lilahrosewilliams, on Instagram!


Recent Posts

See All

The Real of the Body

Written by Carmen X, one of our poetry writers, and edited by Willow, one of our editors! Some quick thoughts, seemingly not brought...

Comments


Welcome to the blog!

Here, you'll find articles written about all sorts of topics! Some come from me, and some come from you guys! 

How can I feature my writing?

Submit your writing by email! Click the email box at the top of your screen to directly send us your work!

Are there any restrictions? Is there a deadline?

There are no requirements, just be polite! There is no deadline to submit your writing to the blog, but if you want your work to be published in our zines, you'll have to send it by the pre-set deadline. 

blog-how-to-write-a-blog-post-400x200.pn
bottom of page