top of page

Rachel Chitofu - Guest Submission

A guest submission written by Rachel Chitofu and edited by Shraddha, one of our editors!

The voice of blood welling up

inside me whispers,

that he cannot find my soul.

His headlights have burned out

suddenly,

smokeless ghosts,

thinning air.

But if I keep still,

my eyes shut for a little longer,

he will be able

to find his way

into my body, without

rousing the moon from her sleep,

peel me down gently,

past the brown bark

of the arching ants,

down to the bare root of me,

where the medicine is ripe

from hiding.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This piece was written by Rachel Chitofu, a 21-year-old poet, and third-year medical student from Harare, Zimbabwe. She won South Africa's New Coin poetry prize in 2021.


This piece was edited by one of our editors, Shraddha. Reach 'em at @shraddhagulati_ on Instagram!


Recent Posts

See All

On Reading Books Borrowed

Written by Carmen X, one of our poetry writers, and edited by Willow, one of our editors! Book Open and forgotten Several hours by the window, The book was fingered Only by capricious winds. ÅŒkuma Kot

Welcome to the blog!

Here, you'll find articles written about all sorts of topics! Some come from me, and some come from you guys! 

How can I feature my writing?

Submit your writing by email! Click the email box at the top of your screen to directly send us your work!

Are there any restrictions? Is there a deadline?

There are no requirements, just be polite! There is no deadline to submit your writing to the blog, but if you want your work to be published in our zines, you'll have to send it by the pre-set deadline. 

blog-how-to-write-a-blog-post-400x200.pn
bottom of page